Pinar del Río

This city was founded in 1699, although its origin is earlier. In 1578 the council of Havana mercedó Francisco de Rojas a sheet called Rio Feo, meeting the herd of Alonso Rojas, Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago. Five months later, another donation of the same land, with a different name, Gaspar Hernandez. Ignored by both the terms of the contrac...

This city was founded in 1699, although its origin is earlier. In 1578 the council of Havana mercedó Francisco de Rojas a sheet called Rio Feo, meeting the herd of Alonso Rojas, Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago. Five months later, another donation of the same land, with a different name, Gaspar Hernandez. Ignored by both the terms of the contract, the City of Havana held a demarcation of those lands, designating the names of Pinar del Rio, Las Taironas and San Mateo, making them the subject of further favors. After the changes, exchanges and transactions between different owners ended in 1719. But since 1699 the neighborhood of Pinar del Río came forming, with proof that the priest had unchurched provide spiritual services in the district of San Rosendo and who baptized on August 2 of that year a child son of natives of Jamaica.

In 1710 the first chapel in the yard of Pinar del Río rose, under the invocation of San Rosendo, date to be determined to some historians as the foundation of this city. While neither the 1699 nor 1710 are that determined the development of the population, in 1773 the Captain General Don Felipe Fonsdeviela, given the need to create a nucleus that would serve as head lands which eventually became the province and already had to be excellent for the cultivation of snuff, did deliver the first lots to the residents of this place. Ordering at the same time qualified her to choose the most convenient seat for this town and It is fixed the limits of their jurisdiction subordinate. It was then, Captain General Fonsdeviela the creator of the city and was also in his honor that he named New Philippines, his patronymic. The town received the title of town on September 10, 1867.

More

Pinar del Río  There are no products in this category.